

www.sccu.co.uk

SOUTHERN COUNTIES CYCLING UNION



1898 – 2023 PRESIDENT – JAN SOMMERFELD

Result of 29th Weekend of Sporting events

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules and regulations

Open 10 Miles Time Trial – Saturday 18th March 2023

Course G10/46

Qualifying event for : SPOCO South East (but register prior to event) and Sussex C. A. SPOCO

Open 25 Miles Time Trial – Sunday 19th March 2023

Course G25/43 Qualifying event for : Sussex C. A. SPOCO

Event Secretary: Robin Johnson, (Brighton Mitre CC)

7 Gorselands, Billingshurst, West Sussex, RH14 9TT. Email: <u>mr_rjohnson@outlook.com</u> Tel: 01403 783368 / 07733 132043

ORBEA GAIN D10 ELECTRIC ROAD BIKE High end equipment fitted. A lightweight bike that can be ridden both on power and fully disengaged off power £1500 ono - reason for sale ill health 07803296494 to view or more details

Open 10 miles Time Trial Saturday 18th March 2023

Course G10/46

With grateful thanks to our TIMEKEEPERS:

Start:	Clive Walton	Redmon C.C.
Finish:	Kathy Collard-Berry	A3crg

Prizes

TIME TRIAL BIKES:	
MARK SMITH Crawley Whls. won £25 + wine, value £6.	22:36
Colin McDermott Festival RC won £15 + wine, value £6.	22:50
Paul Newsome Project 51 won £10 + wine, value £6.	23:35
Alice Connor Velociposse CC won £10 + wine, value £6.	28:44
Teresa Goddard won wine, value £6.	31:34
SHAUN MARLOR, BEC CC 27:25	
	MARK SMITH Crawley Whls. won £25 + wine, value £6. Colin McDermott Festival RC won £15 + wine, value £6. Paul Newsome Project 51 won £10 + wine, value £6. Alice Connor Velociposse CC won £10 + wine, value £6. Teresa Goddard won wine, value £6.

Thanks to the pusher-off, Brian Powney (Kingston Phoenx RC) and all the willing marshals: Jan Sommerfeld (S.C.C.U. President), Stewart Forbes (Horsham C), Bryn Reeves (Horsham C), Ray Watson (Horsham C), Colin Derrick (South Eastern RC), Peter Horsfield (Redmon CC), plus finish spotter David Collard-Berry (A3 crg) and kitchen staff, who volunteered on the day.

www.sccu.co.uk

Position	Name	Name		Club		Time
1	Mark	Smith		Crawley Whls.		00:22:36
2	Colin	McDermott		Festival RC		00:22:50
3	Paul	Newsome		Project 51		00:23:35
4	Lewis	Reeves		Horsham Cycl	ing	00:23:41
5	Paul	Thatcher		Brighton Mitre	СС	00:25:14
6	Jack	Smith		Brighton Mitre	СС	00:25:16
7	Peter	Main		'34 Nomads C	С	00:25:27
8	Gavin	Hughes		Kingston Phoe	enix RC	00:26:53
9	Graham	Hurrell		Basildon CC	*incl. 0:30 l/start	*00:28:40
10	Alice	Connor	W	Velociposse C	С	00:28:44
11	Robert	Royle-Evatt		Addiscombe C	C	00:30:09
12	Teresa	Goddard	W	Kingston Whe	elers CC	00:31:34
13	Robin	Johnson		Brighton Mitre	СС	00:34:12
14	Andrew	Penny		City RC (Hull)		00:34:20

Course G10/46

ROAD

BIKES:

1	Shaun	Marlor	Bec CC	00:27:25
2=	Toby	Clark	Kingston Wheelers CC	00:28:25
2=	Robert	Gilmour	Hounslow & Dist. Whis.	00:28:25
4	Vernon	Schutte	Farnborough & Camberley CC	00:31:32

D.N.S. nos. 4, 8, 10, 17, 19.

Congratulations to all prizewinners.

Course G25/43

1	MARK	SMITH	CRAWLEY WHLS.	00:59:14
		won £25 + wine, value £6.		
2	Marek	Siwicki won £15 + wine, value £6.	Addiscombe CC	01:00:47
3	Peter	Younghusband won £10 + wine, value £6.	Petersfield Triathlon Club	01:01:13
4	Jon	Hughes	VC Godalming + Haslemere	01:02:07
5	Lewis R	Reeves	Horsham Cycling	01:02:30
6	Paul Th	atcher	Brighton Mitre CC	01:03:27
7	Peter N	lain	'34 Nomads CC	01:03:33
8	Paul Tip	opett	Crawley Whis.	01:03:36
9	Adrian I	Blacker	V.T.T.A. (Surrey/Sussex)	01:05:12
10	Jim Bur	dett	Addiscombe CC	01:05:25
11	Rachel		CC London	01:05:31
12	Ferenc	1 st woman, won £10 + File	wine, value £6. women's cou Horsham Cycling	01:06:20
13	Richard	I Horne	Dulwich Paragon CC	01:06:25
14	Jonatha	an Pontin	Addiscombe CC	01:09:47
15	Gavin H	lughes	Kingston Phoenix RC	01:10:20
16	Peter N	ladarasz	Team TMC	01:12:10
17	Robin J	lohnson	Brighton Mitre CC	01:28:49
		<u>_</u> ".		

ROAD BIKE "25":

1	MICHAEL WYKES won £10 + wine, value	LONDON DYNAMO	01:01:52
2	Tony Reeves	GS Stella	01:09:48
3	Robert Gilmour	Hounslow & Dist. Whls.	01:16:07
4	Vernon Schutte	Farnborough & Camberley CC	01:18:30
D.N.F.	John Blight	Rapha CC	

D.N.S., nos. 9, 13, 25, 26.

GRATEFUL THANKS to timekeepers, Clive Walton (Redmon CC) and Kathy Collard-Berry (a3crg),

Pusher-off, and finish spotter David Collard-Berry (A3crg),

Marshals, Colin Tamon (Central Sussex CC), Stewart Forbes (Horsham Cycling),

Mark Jones (Central Sussex CC), Alun Millard (Charlotteville CC), Ken Cullern (Horsham Cycling) and Robert Royle-Evatt (Addiscombe CC);

kitchen staff, Rob Douglas (Norwood Paragon CC).

A personal message from the Committee of the SOUTHERN COUNTIES CYCLING UNION Founded 1898

Thank you for entering this Southern Counties Cycling promotion. If you are a member of an affiliated club we would like to draw your attention to the trophies that the SCCU owns and annually awards. You and your club mates can compete for these in events that are held throughout the racing season.

All SCCU events count for trophies, and where applicable the South Eastern RC Open 10.

Season long awards:

Mens' individual BAR (Claud Butler Trophy) based on the best average speed at 25, 50 and 100 miles. Team BAR (Amateur Cup) best of three (men or women) from any one club.

Veterans' BAR (John Smith Cup) (men and women) based on VTTA standards.

Womens' BAR (Fleming Cup) based on the best average speed at 10, 25 and 50 miles.

Junior BAR Coronation Cup) based on the best average speed at 10 and 25 miles.

Rawson Shield awarded annually to club with the hightest number of entrants in SCCU road promotions.

Specific awards:

Fountain Cup - fastest SCCU member in a Union promoted 25 miles TT. Robin Marsh Trophy - fastest SCCU junior in a SCCU 25.

Vice-Presidents' Tankard - fastest SCCU member in the Union's Open 50 miles TT.

Roberts Shield - best team of three SCCU members in the Union's Open 50 miles TT.

Tacagni Cup - fastest SCCU member in Open 50 not previously having beaten 1:03:00, 2:10:00, 4:30:00

Syd Gray Shield - best team of three SCCU members in the Union's Open 100 miles TT.

Dunlop Cup - overall winner from an affiliated club of the 10 & 25 Spring Sporting TT's.

Bill Diplo Trophy - fastest SCCU member in the early season Sporting 21 miles TT.



DUNLOP CUP

The trophy was originally won by Alick Bevan, Fountain CC, in 1938. The two Spring Sporting time trials have been promoted by Robin Johnson since 1993 and the trophy goes to the overall winner



THE RAWSON SHIELD

Awarded to the club with the highest number of ENTRANTS in the season's SCCU road events

The SCCU is grateful for the continuing support of you and your club, without which it would be impossible to promote events like this one.